Could this be a start of something new?

Something happened to me while having my haircut last Saturday – I had a moment. I wouldn’t say it was a ‘Eureka’ moment but a few lights bulbs came on.

I’ve been toying with the idea of starting up a little sideline to earn extra money and one day, it will be my back up plan if I ever have to face redundantcy or give up full time employment. The ideas has been growing for a few months but have stalled a few times due to Christmas, moving house and a delayed honeymoon. But the main thing that has stopped me is unwilling to slightly dent my savings and have the confidence to it.

Since getting married last year, I’ve been itching to get back into graphic design and craft projects. I won’t say I’m suffering from ‘wedding blues’ at all – I was glad to get rid of the wedding planning stress and family politics.

I’m missing the creative side of it – the wedding stationery design, looking for new and unusual wedding decorations, spending hours on my dining table, cutting, slicing, glueing and sewing. This was my ‘me time’. This was the best part of planning a wedding, I abolutley loved it, even though I was abit antisocial most of the time as my life got sucked into www.pinterest.com.

But will turning ‘me time’ on a sewing machine, painting, crafting, baking into a sideline wise? A question I’m sure many people have asked themselves.

Since getting married, there has been a few more engagements followed by a few enquires about wedding stationery, wedding dress (I designed that myself *smug*), wedding planning and where I get my ideas www.pinterest.com/telerijj. I have a growing desire to support my newly engaged friends with wedding sttaionery (and other wedding hacks!).

So, going back to the lightbulb moment at my hairdressers last Saturday. My hairdresser said that his sister would like me to design her wedding stationery for her and get the contact details of suppliers I used.

‘That was it’ I told myself.

‘I’m going to do it – I’m going to buy a Mac, sort out the office in the house and get everything in place for my new venture’.

That was the push and the vote of confidence I needed to start thinking seriously about my sideline. My father mentioned about ‘designing wedding invites’ as a sideline in the past and reassured me again over the weekend. I’m going to do it.

iMac ordered, looking into Creative Cloud subscription and what support Business Wales has to offer is on my list to-do this week!

To top it all off, I’m going to think seriously about maintaining a blog. Am I mad? Will becoming a blogger make me more anti-social as I’m already sucked into Twitter and Pinterest on my iPad? I’ve had a few failed attempts but it’s a additional digital tool to support my sideline. You never know, I might get a few jobs from here! I might need to increase my data allowance though.

So, here I am. Blogging.

Watch this space…

PS I’ve kept some posts from 2011/2012 as I know the Tefal Actifry Review and Dog Attack post has got a few comments and interest.

One thought on “Could this be a start of something new?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

