Hen Party Invitations with a difference

Us girls love a hen party – good reason to drink a few bottles of fizz, dress up and be silly. I’m not a big fan of the tacky pink hen party themed paraphernalia you can get from party shops and Ann Summers, and I was quite strict with my bridesmaid and fellow hens (and c**ks) not to bring anything pink of willy shaped. Otherwise there would have been trouble!

I’m also not a fan of creating an event on Facebook for hen weekend (see post about Facebook) but I didn’t want to invite my hens and cocks by text message either. So a perfect excuse to design some invitations!

Before I show you the artwork for my hen party, I must say that I had two (yes, TWO) hen parties. I did have three in the end as my work colleagues wanted a night out before I got married. It’s tough life all this partying and prosecco swigging.

My first hen party was a sophisticated dress to impress, afternoon tea at the Park Plaza in Cardiff with female members of the family, ladies who were pregnant at the time or didn’t fancy a heavy night out on the tiles.

My second hen party (more like a weekend) was a wild weekend of heavy drinking, dressing up, being silly etc with my wild hens and cocks (and my by cocks, I mean my male friends who didn’t fancy going to the stag do or prefer female company) at Bluestone Resort in Pembrokeshire.

I kept these invitations simple and neat, so no embellishments, 3D elements, folding, glueing or ribbon. I wanted to save time and effort on the our wedding invitations – the main event of course!

To keep costs down, I used the 95mm x 200mm flat invitation template from Vistaprint.co.uk and sent the artwork to them to be printed, choosing the saver delivery option (delivery can take up to 3 weeks). In my experience, Vistaprint usually dispatch printed items a lot sooner than advertised so it’s not worth paying extra for speedy or express delivery.

Dress to Impress – Afternoon Tea Hen Party

White Lace and Grey Afternoon Tea Hen Party Front
White Lace and Grey Afternoon Tea Hen Party Front
White Lace and Grey Afternoon Tea Hen Party Back
White Lace and Grey Afternoon Tea Hen Party Back

Invite size was 95mm x 200mm, gloss finish on front, flat invitation printed via VistaPrint.co.uk.

To go with the dress to impress theme, I also got customer made black and silver sashes made by PartySash.com for my hens. Each hen’s sash was personalised with their title and surname like ‘Miss Jones’ with the hen party name and date on the rear. Mine read ‘Future Mrs Evans’! These sashes came to £4 each, but I did a bit of negotiating with the supplier.

Here’s my lovely mother in law and myself modelling the sashes:

Black and silver sashes for 'Dress to Impress' hen party
Black and silver sashes for ‘Dress to Impress’ hen party

 

Teleri’s Last Ride before she’s a Bride – Wild West Hen Weekend

Wild West Hen Weekend Front
Wild West Hen Weekend Front
Wild West Hen Weekend Invitation Back
Wild West Hen Weekend Invitation Back

Invite size was 95mm x 200mm, gloss finish on front, flat invitation printed via VistaPrint.co.uk.

My hens and cocks also had t shirts to wear for the weekend featuring the cowgirl on the front and hen party name and date on the rear. Printed in white onto turquoise (not pink!) t shirt.

Hen Do T Shirt Layout
Hen Do T Shirt Layout
Hen's wearing the hen weekend t shirts while eating the buffet
Hens wearing the hen weekend t shirts while eating the buffet. The cock is not impressed!

 

If you or your bridesmaid / Maid of Honour ir arranging your hen weekend, why not get an invitation designed instead of mass text message or Facebook event? Vistaprint.co.uk have a number of templates ready for you to customise with your hen party details or get in touch with me for you custom designed invite. I can also prepare artwork for t shirts and give guidance on sashes.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

