Cardiff City Themed Destination Wedding Invitations

I’m quite excited to announce and show off my very first wedding stationery commission under Manylion Bach | Little Details Design!

I delivered these wedding invitations to the future Mr & Mrs Davies this week and they are very happy customers. Fingers crossed their guests will be happy receiving these Cardiff City Themed Destination Wedding Invitations.

Brief: The bride and groom were not exactly sure what theme, look or design they wanted for their wedding invitations when I first met with them. All they could tell me was the colour scheme of the wedding was Royal Blue (or Cardiff City FC Blue) and they are getting married in Cyprus.

Working with quite vague requirements can be a graphic designer’s worst nightmare but I saw this as an opportunity to create something unique and smart.

Luckily, the bride and groom had already prepared the wording for the invite so the most difficult task had been completed.

Idea: My first idea was to design an airline ticket/boarding pass, sitting in a card ticket wallet, as they are having a destination wedding in Cyprus. When I first spoke to the bride and groom, I just returned from our honeymoon to New York and Mexico so I still had my original boarding passes from this trip and used this as my inspiration. Not forgetting a dedicated board on Pinterest on Destination Wedding Stationery.

I sent an email to the bride and groom about my idea of a airline ticket/boarding pass and they soon replied with a yes.

Design: Next step, setting the look and feel. I got a bit stuck here as I’ve never been to Cyprus and not familiar with Cypriot art and design, it’s traditions etc. I had a quick search on Google and Pinterest but I didn’t see anything that I could apply to the invite. The search results either came back too Greek, Turkish or Egyptian looking.

I parked the Cypriot idea and moved onto looking at beach and seashell inspired wedding invitations. Again, I wasn’t inspired with what I saw on Pinterest but I mocked up a design featuring a hibiscus flower which is often associated with tropical destinations. This was my back up plan.

Then it hit me – why don’t I create a fictional airline called ‘Bluebird Airways’, named after Cardiff City FC mascot, the swallow? I know the groom is a passionate Cardiff City FC fan and a season ticket holder but I wasn’t 100% sure if having a football theme in the wedding will go down well with the bride. The colour scheme was Royal Blue so it would fit in with their requirements. I went ahead and created ‘Bluebird Airlines’ and designed the branding (logo, font, colours) and applied it to the boarding pass.

I had to change the fictional company to read ‘Bluebird Airlines’ as ‘Bluebird Airways’ already exists in Greece. I didn’t want to land up in trouble!

It looked great, and most importantly it was an unusual yet unique style of wedding invitation. Question is, would the bride and groom (especially the bride) fall in love with the idea of ‘Bluebird Airlines’?

I emailed both hibiscus and Bluebird Airlines invite PDF to the bride and waited for the reply. ‘Bluebird Airlines’ was a hit with the bride and groom! Phew!

After a little bit of polishing, kerning and aligning all the text and other elements together, prepared the artwork for print and sent the files to my local printer, ISIS Printing Ltd, Taffs Well, Cardiff.

'Bluebird Airlines' Boarding Pass / Wedding Invitation. Printed by ISIS Printing Ltd, Taffs Well, Cardiff
‘Bluebird Airlines’ Boarding Pass / Wedding Invitation. Printed by ISIS Printing Ltd, Taffs Well, Cardiff

Little Details: To complete the invitation, I’ve added some finishing touches to make it look extra special for the bride and groom.

Ticket Wallet (or the Pocketfold Invite) – the boarding pass (or the wedding invite) needs to be protected so I ordered blue pearlesent pocketfold invitations from www.pocketfoldinvites.co.uk Autograph range.

Royal Blue Autograph Pocketfold Invite from www.pocketfoldinvite.co.uk
Royal Blue Autograph Pocketfold Invite from http://www.pocketfoldinvite.co.uk

Luggage Tags – if you’re going to have a destination wedding and airline inspired wedding invitation, you need matching luggage tags for the guests!

'Bluebird Airlines' Luggage Tag
‘Bluebird Airlines’ Luggage Tag. Printed by ISIS Printing Ltd, Taffs Well, Cardiff

Ribbon as the Bellyband – To keep the invitation together and closed, I got some white and silver ribbon to wrap around. I used the same ribbon for the luggage tags.

 

Embellishment – Last little detail for the wedding invitation, a silver foil circle sticker with the ‘Bluebird Airline’ swallow, printed by  www.diginate.com.

'Bluebird Airlines' Silver Foil Stickers, printed by www.diginate.com
‘Bluebird Airlines’ Silver Foil Stickers, printed by http://www.diginate.com

The Wedding Invitation: Here is the finished wedding invitation!

Outside:

Signed, sealed and delivered. Wrapped with ribbon and attached with silver sticker embelishment
Signed, sealed and delivered. Wrapped with ribbon and attached with silver sticker embelishment

Inside:

'Bluebird Airlines' Boarding Pass Style Wedding Invitation, designed by Teleri Evans, Manylion Bach | Little Details Design. April 2014.
‘Bluebird Airlines’ Boarding Pass Style Wedding Invitation, designed by Teleri Evans, Manylion Bach | Little Details Design. May 2014.

If you would like a similar wedding invitation for your wedding, I am available for commissions. The template can be changed to match your theme or colour scheme.

Prices start from £3 per invite, including the luggage tags. Adding a RSVP card and print guest names onto the invite is extra. Typical turn around 2-3 weeks, depending on printer availability.

Please drop me an email on manylionbach@gmail.com to discuss your requirements.

One thought on “Cardiff City Themed Destination Wedding Invitations

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

