Timeless Pearl Wedding Invitations & Stationery

This is where it all started – designing and assembling my own wedding stationery for our wedding back in August 2013.

It’s about time I showcased my own wedding stationery on the blog. I have been a bit slow to upload photos and type up a blog post on my own wedding stationery. The main reason was down to unable to find the USB stick from my wedding photographer – I packed it in a very safe place while moving house earlier in the year. Secondly, I couldn’t mind my spare wedding invitations.

Anyway, I found the USB stick and invitations in the end and here they are!

Brief: 

  1. Must be bilingual / have a Welsh and English version.
  2. Further information card with details about our Wedding Gift List and Directions & Accommodation for west Wales.
  3. RSVP card with space for menu options and dietary requirements, with address of parents.
  4. Invitations must have a timeless / classic theme, without looking too old fashioned.
  5. Wedding Day invitation to be worded formally, Wedding Evening invitation to be worded informally.

Idea: I spent weeks researching and deciding which design and layout I wanted for our wedding stationery. I blame Pinterest in having too many variations of wedding invitations in their search results. I changed my mind several times, from ditsy grey with cream spots, afternoon tea flower prints, bunting to delicate diecut designs.

Also, I had to design a wedding invite that my parents would approve of i.e not too colourful/different/wacky. After showing a few ideas on Pinterest and mocking up a few draft invitations, I managed to design a smart and elegant wedding invitation which can easily applied onto other wedding stationery like seating plan and order of service.

Design: After finalising the design and wording of the invitation, I sent the files to ISIS Printing and the card inserts were back within a few weeks. I chose to have the card inserts printed onto a matt linen finish card stock, just to add a touch of elegance to the invite. There was a bit of a wait to get this card stock as only one paper mill in Germany produce it. I was relieved then the printed phoned to say that the card stock had arrived safely at their warehouse. It was worth the wait!

All card inserts for the invite were design bilingually i.e Welsh and English. I opted for the back to back approach therefore with Welsh language on one side and English on the other. Depending on the guest, I inserted the cards with their prefered language facing front as they would open the invite.

For the Save the Date, Order of Service, Table Plan and Table Names, I managed to design these so the Welsh and English would appear side by side.

I wasn’t looking forwards to the prospect of handwriting the guest names onto the invites and either getting the spelling incorrect or smudge the ink. Luckily, the printers could offer this service for a small fee (12p per name) and I so glad I opted for this option. I supplied the guest names as a Word document for the printers and they printed the guest names onto the card. I did ask for a few blank cards just in case I needed to invite someone to the wedding at last minute.

To keep the invitation, further information card and RSVP card together, I wanted to have a pocketfold invite wrapped in ribbon. I found www.pocketfoldinvite.co.uk on Google and ordered a few different samples from them. For the wedding day invite I used a pearlescent ivory pocketfold and a slate grey pocketfold for the evening party from the Debut range.

The further information and RSVP card was inserted into the pocket in the pocketfold card and the invite card was attached using double sided sticky tape.

To keep the pocketfold invite closed, I used Gisela Graham Ivory Organza Sheer Ribbon with Hearts with a square cardboard embellishment with ‘G&T’ printed onto it. The same ribbon and embellishment was applied to the Order of Service. The ribbon and embellishment was attached the card with double sided sticky tape.

Gisela Graham Ivory / Cream Organza Sheer Ribbon with Hearts from www.amazon.co.uk
Gisela Graham Ivory / Cream Organza Sheer Ribbon with Hearts from http://www.amazon.co.uk

 

Timeless Pearl Wedding Invitations & Stationery

Save the Date

Save the Date Card
Save the Date Card

Wedding Invitation
Outside:

Cover of Wedding Invite. Ribbon from East of India, attached with sqaure 'G&T' embelishment. Photo by Ffot Sian Bowi
Cover of Wedding Invite. Photo by Ffoto Sian Bowi

Inside:

Inside Wedding Invite. Contains pocket to hold Further Information Card and RSVP Postcard. Ribbon from East of India
Inside Wedding Invite. Contains pocket to hold Further Information Card and RSVP Postcard. Photo by Ffoto Sian Bowi

Order of Service
Outside:

Cover of Order of Service
Cover of Order of Service. Photo by Ffoto Sian Bowi

Inside:

Inside Order of Service. Bilingual Welsh & English
Inside Order of Service. Bilingual Welsh & English. Photo by Ffoto Sian Bowi

Seating Plan

Table Plan in white vintage frame. Photo by Ffoto Sian Bowi
Table Plan in white vintage frame. Photo by Ffoto Sian Bowi

Table Names

Table names on mini easel. Photo by Ffotos Sian Bowi
Table names on mini easel. Photo by Ffotos Sian Bowi

Credits
Design & Assembly by Teleri James Evans, Manylion Bach | Little Details Design
Printing by ISIS Printing Ltd, Taffs Well, Cardiff www.isis-print.co.uk
Ribbon from Amazon www.amazon.co.uk
Pearlescent Pocketfold in Ivory and Silver from www.pocketfoldinvites.co.uk
Vintage Frame from Matalan www.matalan.co.uk
Mini Easels from Hobbycraft, www.hobbycraft.co.uk
Photography by Ffotos Sian Bowi www.ffotosianbowi.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

