Pastel Holiday Destination signs for the Home – Custom Order

It’s nice to have a break away from my sewing machine and iMac and get my hands dirty with a bit of paint. Also, as the weather has been great in the last week or so, it’s something I can do outside and not stuck near an electricity point.

After sharing my first Holiday Destination Sign Custom Order on Facebook and on my blog a few weeks ago, I received another order! Great – time to get the paint pots out.

These are the destinations my client requested for his holiday destination signs:

  • Maldives
  • Alton Towers
  • Padstow
  • Luz
  • Freshwater East

The miles to destination were calculated from Llantwit Major, Vale of Glamorgan.

My client also requested if the signs can be painted in pastel / beach hut style colours, to match her family room at home.

Sanding wood ready to be painted
Sanding wood ready to be painted

This is my second Holiday Destination sign I’ve painted now and it is still undergoing evolution. As my client only wanted five destinations for her signs, I was concerned that the width of wood I used for my first version would be too thin and the overall sign would look small when hung up on a wall. Therefore, I decided to use a wider 69mm (2 3/4 inch) wood instead of 44mm (1 3/4 inch) for this Holiday Sign.

Undercoat, ready for painting
Undercoat, ready for painting

This project wasn’t as time consuming as my first version – I already had the tools to cut and prepare the wood for painting, and the signs didn’t require as much little details. Saying that, it still took me three weeks to finish this in between my bunting and wedding stationery orders!

First stage - pastel colours
First stage – pastel colours

And here is the finished product:

Pastel Holiday Destination Signs
Pastel Holiday Destination Signs

Following on from this project, I have decided to offer two versions of the sign for future clients:

1. Small Holiday Sign – compact / budget version for clients that have a small living space or limited hanging space like a flat.

2. Large Holiday Sign – ideal as a statement piece for a large room where space is not an issue.

If you would like something similar for your own home, please drop me an email on manylionbach@google.com with a list of your destinations and for a free quote.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

