Forest Friends Bunting for Tyler – Custom Order

Here’s another Christmas order – It’s been a while since I made bunting for a boy so when I received this order, I was pleased and a break away from working on girly fabrics!

However, this order took me a lot longer than usual to put together due to unable to find suitable fabric to my client’s requirements.

My client’s original requirements were:

  1. Bunting to have a Beatrix Potter theme
  2. Name to read out ‘Tyler’ in complementary colour felt
  3. Bunting to be ready by end of November as it’s a Christmas present.

Believe it or not, I found difficulty finding Beatrix Potter print fabric for this order. I searched high and low on the internet and I couldn’t find anything suitable to use as bunting or the seller was based in United States of America or Australia. I could have purchased the fabric from an overseas sellers but there is a danger of waiting 6 to 12 weeks for the item to arrive and had to pay import tax between £5 and £10.

I’m a little bit saddened to discover that there isn’t Beatrix Potter fabric widely available in the UK. I thought getting Beatrix Potter fabric would be easy to get hold of, especially as it is a well established British institution with a big fan base and a wide range of merchandise available but no character fabric available for us crafters to make items?

The only fabrics that did find from UK sellers was vintage quilt panels, prints only suitable for curtains or quilts (very large pattern!) or fabric remnants from 20 years ago – and they aren’t cheap! A few sellers obviously seen a shortage in Beatrix Potter fabrics in the UK and mark up the price.

Vintage Beatrix Potter Fabric
Vintage Beatrix Potter Fabric

After notifying my client about the problem of unable to find suitable Beatrix Potter fabric for Tyler’s bunting, I suggested that I used a forest animals patterns fabric instead as there’s plenty of choice available at haberdasheries. My client agreed with my suggestion and changed the requirements to:

  1. Pennants made from forest animals themed fabric
  2. Name to read out ‘Tyler’ in complementary colour felt
  3. End pennants to feature a acron embellishment
  4. Bunting to be ready by end of November as it’s a Christmas present.

Here it is:

Forest Animal Friend bunting for Tyler
Forest Animal Friend bunting for Tyler

 

Felt acorn embellishment on bunting
Felt acorn embellishment on bunting

If you would like custom bunting, please drop me an email to manylionbach@gmail.com for a free quote.

Last date for Christmas gift orders is Friday 14th November 2014, delivery between 1st and 18th December 2014.

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

