Rockin’ Robin Red & White Christmas Bunting – Custom Order

I’m about to say the ‘C’ word, yes Christmas! It’s only the beginning of August so sorry.

This one of many Festive themed bunting I worked on while I was on maternity leave in 2015 – a Red and White Christmas bunting with a red robin embellishment.

This order is from my mum and she asked me in June 2015 for a Christmas themed bunting. I’m not sure if she was being super organised or thought I needed 5 months notice to make her bunting while looking after a new born baby.

Mum has been going on about having a Christmas themed bunting for over a year after she saw one on display at the Royal Winter Show in Builth Wells.

Don’t worry mum, your Christmas bunting is ready!

My mum’s requirements were:

  1. Fabric to have a festive or red/green/white fabric OR something that won’t go out of date/fashion.
  2. Bunting to read out ‘Nadolig Llawen’ (Merry Christmas in Welsh).
  3. Have a festive embellishment on the end. She didn’t specify anything particular, only ‘whatever’s easiest’ so I chose to make a felt red robin for the bunting.

It took us a few weeks to search and find which fabric she wanted for her bunting. After searching online and a few haberdasheries and markets locally, we found some quite garish and bold Christmas fabrics which should be reported to the craft police! Think dence patterns, too much gold ink and dark photographic Christmas images. Bleurgh!

Luckily, we did find some lovely Christmas fabrics by Robert Kaufman, Michael Miller and Makower but mum didn’t fancy any of these at they seemed ‘childish’, ‘too trendy’ or ‘I’m not sure’ (mum’s words). I know understand where my fussiness comes from! Ah well, nothing wrong in attention to details.

photo

I gave up on suggesting Christmas themed printed fabric for mum in the end and opted for a lovely linen and cotton mix red fabric for the bunting. I used white felt for the letters and red, brown and white felt for the robin.

And here it is:

photo

If you would like Christmas bunting in Welsh or English for your home, the last date for orders is 31st October 2017. Expected delivery between 24th and 29th November 2017. Please drop me an email on manylionbach@gmail.com for a free quote.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

